Map of bike paths / walking paths in the Aurora area


Recreational trails for walking, running and cycling in Aurora, Illinois

Aurora, Illinois map area

Aurora, Illinois

key smallClick on the key symbol in the main map to zoom into specific trails.


Blackberry Trail

Fox River Trail

Illinois Prairie Path

Illinois Prairie Path - Batvia Spur

Oakhurst Forest Preserve Trail

Phillips Park Trail

Virgil L. Gilman Nature Trail

Waubonsie Creek Trail

Waubonsie Trail - Kendall County





Regional Trails

Aurora is a large community on the southwestern outskirts of the Chicago Metropolitan Area in Northeastern Illinois.  This is an area of residential neighborhoods, farmland and forest preserves with the Fox River flowing through the middle of Aurora. Other communities in this area include North Aurora, Sugar Hill, Oswego, Boulder Hill, Montgomery, Bristol and Yorkville.

There are numerous recreational trails for bike riding, walking and running in this part of the state. Regional recreational trails travel through multiple communities along waterways or along abandoned railroad right-of-ways. There are also many neighborhood recreational trails that wander through the neighborhoods and local parks.

Some of the larger parks and preserves in the Aurora that have recreational trails for bike riding, walking and running, include: Phillips Park, Oakhurst Forest Preserve and Waubonsie Lake Park.

Fox River Trail

The Fox River Trail is a system of paved trails that follows the Fox River as it meanders through the communities of Algonquin, Carpentersville, Sleepy Hollow, Elgin, South Elgin, Valley View, St. Charles, Geneva, Batavia, Mooseheart, North Aurora, Aurora, Montgomery, Boulder Hill and Oswego in Northeastern Illinois. These communities are located in the northwestern portion of the greater Chicago Metro area. The trail is not continuous the entire way and trail users may need to use streets to get from one section to the other. Trail users will need to cross the river in a few locations as well to continue on the main route of the trail.

The Fox River Trail connects numerous local parks, forest preserves and other attractions along the river.

Read more about the Fox River Trail

Illinois Prairie Path

The Illinois Prairie Path is a 61-mile long system of unpaved pathways located in Cook, DuPage and Kane Counties in Northeastern Illinois. The trail was the first Rails-To-Trails conversion in the United States and dates back to the 1960s. The trail is open for non-motorized use such as bike riding and running. Horseback riding is allowed in certain sections. The surface of the trail is compacted crushed limestone.

The lengthy trail system branches out in several directions and serves several communities. The route takes it past numerous parks and forest preserves. The trail also intersects with other major recreational trails in the area and with pathways and hiking trails in the forest preserves.

On branch of the Illinois Prairie Path extends into the northeast section of Aurora. The trail comes close to the Fox River Trail near Illinois Avenue Park in the downtown area.

Read more about the Illinois Prairie Path

Virgil L. Gilman Nature Trail

The Virgil L. Gilman Trail and the Virgil Gilman Trail are paved pathways located in and around Aurora. The Virgil L. Gilman Nature Trail is managed by Kane County Forest Preserve District. The Virgil Gilman Trail is managed by the Fox Valley Park District.

The Virgil L. Gilman Nature Trail is a 7.5-mile long paved pathway that extends from Waubonsee Community College in Sugar Grove Township to Terry Avenue and Jericho Road in Aurora. The Virgil Gilman Trail is a 3.5-mile long paved pathway that starts a few blocks away at Copley I. Park in Aurora and extends to Hill Avenue.

Read more about the Virgil L. Gilman Nature Trail

Southern DuPage County Regional Trail

The Southern DuPage County Regional Trail is a 46-mile long system of paved and unpaved trails located in the southern portion of DuPage County. The trails extend from Aurora to Willowbrook in the western portion of the Chicago Metropolitan area. The trails go through the communities of Aurora, Naperville, Darien, Bolingbrook, Downers Grove, Westmont, Clarendon Hills, Willowbrook, Burr Ridge, Hinsdale and Woodridge. The trails include the pathways in Springbrook Prairie Forest Preserve, Green Valley Forest Preserve and Waterfall Glen County Forest Preserve.

The Southern DuPage County Regional Trail travels alongside State Highway 34 and 75th Street on the eastern side of Aurora then heads east into Naperville.


Following are links to official off-site resources to find out more details about the recreational trails located in Aurora, Illinois.

Individual Maps for Recreational Trails in Illinois

Here is a list of links to the individual maps for specific recreational trails in the State of Illinois.